new sensations…

The last 24 hours have been full of new sensations. For Eli the sensations have included the following:

1. The sensation of having a nose piece from his sunglasses lodged up inside of his nose.

2. The sensation of two mommies, two office visits, two doctors, four nurses, one anesthesiologists, one outpatient surgery visit, a surprise visit from daddy, one blue snow cone, seven superhero sticker bribes, and eight hours of focused involvement in the removal of the said nose piece.

3. The sensation of hearing several lectures of how we don’t ever stick things up our noses… AGAIN!!! have also been experienced by the little guy.

My sensations have been new and unusual as well. All of the above started on our way back from our visit with Steven. My sensations are as follows:

1. The sensation of fear– At the first alert of, “Mom I got a circle up my nose!!!” I pulled over, found tweezers, and then discovered I couldn’t remove it. My cell phone was dead and we were still about an hour away from home.

2. The sensation of shocking disbelief of how strong my little guy is when traumatized by other people sticking things up his nose to try to retrieve the first thing he put up there. SAD!!

3. The sensation of laughter while watching Eli become loopy as he was undergoing anesthesia. He kept exclaiming, “Wook, those machines are unfwolding and it’s reawy cool!!” (we think he was seeing transformers in the white paint of the walls…)

4. The sensation of helplessness as they wheeled my little guy off on a hospital bed all by himself.  I was in no way expecting what I felt at that moment.  VERY SAD!!

So these are just a few of the thrills we have had most recently. All is well now. Eli is fine and still very proud of his stickers. We took these with Steven’s iphone.

3 Comments »

  1. Jenna said

    Oh girl, I’m SO sorry!! Eli sounds a bit like my Trey…always trying something “new.” He’s been rather fond of sticking the Mr. Potato Head pieces up his nose. Well, it’s a hole like on Mr. Potato Head! Lol! Glad the ordeal is over for you, and hopefully nothing like it will ever be repeated!

  2. WOW! I didn’t even know that was going on this weekend! Girl…I would have been praying for you! I totally understand the fear of the kids going under…I have had two do that and it is not fun!

    I am so glad the nose thing is out! (Sorry…don’t know what else to call it).

    Hope everyone is doing good now!
    Amy

  3. […] didn’t tell you before, BUT the day of Eli’s nose experience after Steven went back to camp Monica dislocated her elbow!!!!!! Our pediatrician is the absolute […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment